One Degree of Separation from Paul McCartney

Back in November, a few coworkers and I volunteered at an event to raise money for a charity. At this event were donors from the world-renowned video game company, Bungie. For those that don’t know, Bungie created the videogame Destiny in which Paul McCartney helped compose music for the game. One of his many contributions was his original song for the game “Hope For the Future.” The second I discovered that employees from Bungie were at the event, I made it a goal for the evening to chat with them and ask if they personally worked with Paul during the project.

For the sake of privacy, I will not list any name or gender of the employee I spoke with; I will neutrally refer to them as “X”… It wasn’t until the very end of the event when my coworker and dear friend encouraged me to finally approach the group of Bungie employees.

Me: nervously “Hi, this is kind of random, but umm… I’m a really big Paul McCartney fan…and I, uhh–“

X: “OH my goodness – Paul is SO sweet!”

Me: speechless

X: “I never met him in person, but I communicated with him via email”

X went on to talk about how kind Paul is and what a treat it was to have him work on their project a few years back. Our encounter was short and ended with an endearing hug and me in theatrical tears. See below for an action shot:

bungie

My coworker and dear friend is a firm believer in energies and world connectedness. As he put it – I was so overwhelmed with joy because I “dabbled in Paul’s energy.” After all, I was only one degree of separation from him at that moment in time.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

